For generations we’ve been cultivating the rich soil of our land, creating exceptional wines and nurturing passionate wine makers. Each bottle is a testament to the passion and expertise of our wine makers, and the superior quality of our product. Harvested with pride, hand crafted with meticulous attention to detail, and bottled with passion, every single wine is an expression of our dedication to excellence.

Tours available on request only. For enquiries please email to cellartours@vergenoegd.co.za

1696

The Brandes Panorama (Rijksmusem) which has been made digitally available in high resolution (Figure 1) has proved to be a very important resource which depicts the property in good detail as it was circa 1786. It is very seldom that graphic detail of this kind is available for any Cape farms. During the course of this study the accuracy of the panorama was tested against our own observations. While certain elements of the panorama cannot be explained by what is on the ground today, it is largely very accurate down to verifiable details of the cellars, homestead, walled kraals and even the formal garden in from of the homestead (still in place today). The panorama serves to confirm that Vergenoegd is among the most intact of early Cape farms and therefore a very important heritage site.

The farm Vergnoegd has its origins in the early phase of land grants executed by the Dutch East India Company at the end of the 17th century. The land, granted to Peter Vos in 1696 is situated on the very edge of the Stellenbosch Wine Lands at the point at which the arable lands give way to the expanses of sterile dune sands that make up the Cape Flats (Figure 2). The Faure family who owned the farm since the 1820’s recently sold the property to new owners. The long period of ownership by a single family has resulted in the farm and associated buildings being remarkably authentic and generally well conserved by current standards. The farmhouse is a declared Provincial Heritage Site. 

1696
A richly fertile piece of land beside the Eerste River was the ideal farm for Pieter de Vos when it was granted to him in 1696. It’s no wonder he called it VERGENOEGD - translating from the dutch word as “content, cheerful”.
1696
1773
When ownership transferred to Johannes Nicolus Colyn, the homestead saw its first renovation, transforming it from a likely “T” shape to an incomplete “H”. Johannes also built the “holbol” gable, as was fashionable at the time, embossing it with the year 1773 and an incorrectly spelt “Vergenoegt”.
1773
1820
The farm passed into the hands of a Lutheran minister called Johan Georg Lochner before finally, in 1820, Johannes Gysbertus Faure purchased the estate, after which Vergenoegd Wine Estate remained in the hands of the Faure family for a further six generations. Under the family’s careful nurture, a wine-making tradition was born and today, the estate produces quality wines from its extensive vineyards.
1820
2015
Since change of ownership in late 2015, when German heritage investor and businessman Prof Dr Dr Peter Löw bought the farm, is has been transformed with a state of the art wine cellar and many new, exciting visitor experiences such as classic and vintage wine tasting, cellar tours, the internationally renowned Runner Duck parades and our farm deli.
2015
Present
Now with our beautiful food and wine on offer – a trip to Vergenoegd Löw is a slice of the unhurried life of yesteryear and a taste of the contemporary return to authenticity. Vergenoegd Löw has a timeless appeal, steeped in the comfortable rhythms of daily farm life and home to both indigenous birds and the famous Indian Runner Ducks.
Present
0